Ionic iOS Automatic Code Signing Error: Provisioning profile is Xcode managed, signing settings require a manually managed profile

Description of the issue

Hello!
I am trying to get passed some signing troubles with an Ionic application. I have followed the steps outlined here: https://devcenter.bitrise.io/ios/code-signing/ and replaced the xcode archive step with the ionic archive step.

In addition I am using the generate cordova build config step, and am setting the values to those used in the upload from the codesigndoc tool. I also ensured that I can create a valid .ipa file from xcode using archive / export.

When I try to build I get
Code Signing Error: Provisioning profile "iOS Team Provisioning Profile: *" is Xcode managed, but signing settings require a manually managed profile.

This is confusing to me because I have all my signing set to automatic in the project, and truthfully am not fond of signing and always opt for the automatic option.

I am relatively new to iOS signing, so wouldn’t be surprised if I have set a setting somewhere to make the build think I have set some signing setting to manual signing, but after perusing the xcode settings, everything is set to automatic. How can I set this up to use automatic signing?

Environment:

Bitrise - stack: default Hybrid (xamarin, Ionic,…) mac OS

Reproducibility

• _Does a “Rebuild” help?
    Sadly, no
  • Does the issue happen sporadically, or every time? :
    every time
  • Does upgrading the build Step to the latest version help? :
    no
  • When did the issue start? :
    i’ve been running into this since this morning

Local reproduction

_Can it be reproduced on your own Mac/PC?

no

Build log

Hi @josh-strickland-4c,

sorry for the inconveniences.

Could you please try to run your workflow on your local machine: How to experiment with Bitrise configs locally, on your Mac/Linux ?