You can still use the old Workflow Editor one for a while, until you get used to the new UI.
The new Workflow Editor looks like this:
Note: You can dismiss the editor with the
X in the top-right corner of the editor!
The tabs are the same as in the previous editor: Workflows, Code signing, Secrets, App Env Vars, Triggers, bitrise.yml. Each tab has different context. For Workflows, App Env Vars, Triggers, this is the app’s configuration. The
bitrise.yml tab has the same context, only it can be edited as text. The code signing’s context is all the app related files. The secrets are the app’s secret environment variables, which are stored separately from the app’s configuration.
The save and discard button are referring to the current tab’s context. If you make changes and try to switch to a tab with different context, an alert will show up, informing you about your unsaved changes. In practice this means that you no longer have to save when you’re jumping between Workflows, App Env Vars and Triggers, you can keep refining these configs without any interruption, unlike in the old editor where you had to save changes for every tab change.
The Workflow Editor is also presented as a slide-up full screen layer, to have enough space for editing, as well as to not lose context. If you open it from the Build’s page and then dismiss it, you’ll “return” to the Build’s page (actually you will remain on that page all along, the editor is just another layer presented on top of it!). This makes it super easy to check your build logs, open the editor right from there, do a quick change, dismiss the editor and click rebuild without any navigation or page reload!
Dismiss the Workflow Editor: You can close the editor with the
X in the top-right corner of the editor.
Major UI changes - Workflows tab
The New Workflow Editor has mostly the same functionally as the previous version, except for the Workflows tab, where there are a few major UI changes that worth to be explained.
In the tab’s top menu, you can select a workflow (you can also rename it in the appearing dropdown), add workflow, add a before/after workflow to the currently selected workflow, rearrange the workflow/before-workflows/after-workflows, and delete the currently selected workflow.
In the tab’s main view, you can see the currently selected workflow’s workflow chain, which consists of itself and all of its before/after workflows (in order), as well as the before/after workflows of those workflows. Note: removing a before/after workflow here will not delete that workflow, it will only remove it from the selected workflow’s workflow chain. In the following screenshot, you can see the
primary workflow with the
prepare and the
send-message workflows attached to it as before and after workflows:
This makes it way easier to compose more advanced workflows which utilize the workflow chaining feature, it’s no longer required to jump between workflows in the chain to see which steps will run as part of the build!
The rest of the Workflows tab (step editing, step input management) has functionally the same UI as in the old version, enhanced pretty much everywhere a bit based on your feedback. Thanks everyone who sent us any feedback related to the workflow editor (both old and the new one)! Your notes and feedback helped us tremendously in streamlining the experience!
Bug reports & change suggestions
The new workflow editor is a separate open-source project, also available as a standalone offline editor. You can report bugs, suggest changes in its GitHub repository, or feel free to leave a comment here on https://discuss.bitrise.io/ or create a #feature-request!
Happy Building (and configuring)!