Going 0 to publish with Flutter - Feedback, issues, workarounds

Iteration 67, got it working! :sweat_smile: (TL;DR version at the bottom)

I wanted to give you guys some feedback about my “first month with Bitrise”.

Background

I’m fairly comfortable in shell but I have limited DevOps experience. I put together a few Jenkins jobs and a couple of Ansible playbooks but that’s about it. My focus is usually around development.

As for Mobile Development: Flutter was my gateway drug. Been doing it for about half a year now professionally. I’m using Bitrise for one of my hobby projects as evaluation for the pro projects. (Been writing Dart apps since 2013)

Expectations

There are 2 big things I expected Bitrise to help me with:

1. Run automated test on push/PR and scream at me when I screw up
  2. Create build artifacts and push them to Play Store (iOS coming later… maybe) - will be hooked up to a trigger on tag creation

Approach

I watched a couple of YT videos, looked around the internet, github for tutorials to get an idea what Bitrise is and how it work, how it’s different from other CI tools I’ve used. Maybe spent 3 days only getting the basics/concepts down.

Docs are pretty good if one has the patience to read them - things start to come together if you go over a couple of seemingly unrelated topics. What are steps, how they interact, envman, bitrise caching, test reporting and a bunch of others.

Let’s get dirty

The promise of Bitrise, sort of paraphrasing and expressing my understanding:

Ohh, we got these steps, you go online, throw them together and stuff works.

Khm… “Iteration 76”

Half of those, I imagine are because I’m new to Bitrise. I’m going to expand on the other half.

Starting off with Flutter project template

Just went through the steps, it works exceptionally well. Recognized that it’s a Flutter project,
preselected some defaults for me that I didn’t have to change.