Caching with keys

In many cases the current caching system is not useful. Let’s imagine a build where I have node modules.
Imagine I have a master branch and whenever I have a PR to this master branch, a build is triggered.
Let’s assume that I create a release every two weeks and I create a release branch to create the release, because you would want to lock your release code down in case there are changes to master that you don’t want to go live. Otherwise it would be error-prone.

Assuming my default branch is master and the master branch would never ever get built directly unless I manually trigger it for some reason, which means there will never be a default branch cache.

So where does this leave me? I create a PR and on the initial build I will never have a cache and every time I do this, bitrise will take 5 minutes or so just to push my node_modules into the cache, just in case I happen to make another build for that very specific PR and even then it’s not that big a difference because every time the pull and the push are triggered, they together take around 3-4 minutes, while a yarn install takes 4-5. So in this case it makes absolutely no sense to use the caching system on bitrise.

Why is a key system better?
This has a great example on Circle CI, I hope you check it out. They key can be attached to the checksum. The checksum could be taken from yarn.lock file and if the lock file has had no changes the push step would be skipped. Already at least 2 minutes advantage.
Using a key, the pull step can also be customized and specific files could be pulled, so instead of retaining 23458723 caches for my node_modules, there would only be one source of truth. I assume this should also be to bitrise’s advantage.