# Commented out lines on the Workflow Editor are deleted

**URL:** <https://discuss.bitrise.io/t/commented-out-lines-on-the-workflow-editor-are-deleted/5485>\
**Category:** Tooling Issues\
**Created:** [June 22, 2018, 2:11pm UTC](https://discuss.bitrise.io/t/commented-out-lines-on-the-workflow-editor-are-deleted/5485 "2018-06-22T14:11:25Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 5\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![kuassivi](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/k/a3d4f5/32.png) [@kuassivi](https://discuss.bitrise.io/u/kuassivi)\
**Post date:** [June 22, 2018, 2:11pm UTC](https://discuss.bitrise.io/t/commented-out-lines-on-the-workflow-editor-are-deleted/5485/1 "2018-06-22T14:11:25Z")

</div>

While on the Workflow Editor, I commented out a few lines referring to some steps, but I wanted to have those lines still on the bitrise.yml, and unfortunately once I saved it and I switched to another tab, it removed it all ☹

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![koral](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/flex016/user_avatar/discuss.bitrise.io/koral/32/357_2.png) [@koral](https://discuss.bitrise.io/u/koral)\
**Post date:** [June 22, 2018, 3:00pm UTC](https://discuss.bitrise.io/t/commented-out-lines-on-the-workflow-editor-are-deleted/5485/2 "2018-06-22T15:00:09Z")

</div>

There were several similar issues/discussions. Look here: [Saving comments in Bitrise.yml?](http://discuss.bitrise.io/t/saving-comments-in-bitrise-yml/423)  
There is a different way for disabling steps: [https://devcenter.bitrise.io/tips-and-tricks/disable-a-step-by-condition/#disable-a-step](https://devcenter.bitrise.io/tips-and-tricks/disable-a-step-by-condition/#disable-a-step)

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![kuassivi](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/k/a3d4f5/32.png) [@kuassivi](https://discuss.bitrise.io/u/kuassivi)\
**Post date:** [June 22, 2018, 3:29pm UTC](https://discuss.bitrise.io/t/commented-out-lines-on-the-workflow-editor-are-deleted/5485/3 "2018-06-22T15:29:14Z")

</div>

Might it be very helpful to advise this in bold red on the top of the Workflow Editor?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![godreikrisztian](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/flex016/user_avatar/discuss.bitrise.io/godreikrisztian/32/22_2.png) [@godreikrisztian](https://discuss.bitrise.io/u/godreikrisztian)\
**Post date:** [June 25, 2018, 11:35am UTC](https://discuss.bitrise.io/t/commented-out-lines-on-the-workflow-editor-are-deleted/5485/4 "2018-06-25T11:35:18Z")

</div>

Good idea, indeed. It is reported to the website team.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![system](https://us1.discourse-cdn.com/flex016/uploads/bitrise/original/2X/d/d901cf2aad020f2dd11918afc89ec2089bb87b35.png) [@system](https://discuss.bitrise.io/u/system)\
**Post date:** [July 25, 2018, 11:44am UTC](https://discuss.bitrise.io/t/commented-out-lines-on-the-workflow-editor-are-deleted/5485/5 "2018-07-25T11:44:30Z")

</div>

This topic was automatically closed 30 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
