${BITRISE_GIT_BRANCH} not working

I have a fastlane script for each platform (iOS and android) and for some reason this variable (BITRISE_GIT_BRANCH) is not working. I’m new to bitrise/ fastlane and apps in general, can you point me in the right direction to either set this variable correctly within bitrise or how to fix it within the script that references the BITRISE_GIT_BRANCH variable?

It was working previously, earlier in the year (2021) and before as I haven’t created this build process myself, I’ve inherited the pipeline that uses Bitrise so looking for help!

I have seen the following link which I also commented on but it didn’t help. We use feature branches for development and then eventually we’ll build beta releases using tags. I just want the variable to say build the branch it’s on (without the use of tags etc…)

If you are using tags or commit hashes to trigger the build then the branch information is not going to be present. Tags are based on commit hashes and they are not immediately discernible.

We were able to work around this because our CI automatically creates the tag and it includes the branch name in the tag name. We just added a step that parses the tag name and then initializes the BITRISE_GIT_BRANCH for the following steps to consume. To handle commit hash adhoc invocations, we put a check on steps that absolutely needs the branch name for a special environment variable that we cascaded to the devs to supply if they really want to build using a commit hash. Realistically only a few power devs use that route. :slight_smile:

thanks for the response, so has something changed how it works recently?

If I understand correctly you are creating tags and then using them to work out the branch…(?)